Earthquake in Emilia-Romagna and Lombardy

Two months after the shocks of 20 and 29 May that hit the territories of Emilia-Romagna, Lombardy and Veneto regions, the Dicomac, that coordinated the activities of the National Service of Civil Protection during the first phase of the emergency, ends its work in the area. With the ordinance no. 15 of 1 August 2012, the management of the emergency is handed over to the Presidents of Emilia-Romagna, Lombardy and Veneto Regions who were appointed Deputy Commissioners by the decree-law no. 74/2012.

On 2 June,, woth an ordinance of the Head of the Civil Protection Department, the Di.coma.C- Command and Control Headquarters, is set up in Bologna, in order to coordinate rescue and assistance activities in the regions affected by the 20 and 29 May earthquakes.
Wit the establishment of the Di.Coma.C, the coordination of components and operating structures of the National Service of Civil Protection to support the Head of Department is transferred in the region mostly hit by the seismic events, also in view of the future takeover of the emergency. Structures of Emilia Romagna Region are an integral part of it.

Foreshocks in Emilia and Lombardy provinces, already hit by the magnitude 5,9 at 4.04 a.m. of 20 May, go on. In particular, on 29 May at 9 a.m., another earthquake of magnitude 5,.8 occurred in the province of Modena di magnitudo with epicentre among Medolla, Mirandola and Cavezzo. Various foreshocks affected also the provinces of Reggio Emilia and Mantova, among which a magnitude 5,3 one at 12.55 p.m.

Following these events, the Council of Ministers declared the state of emergency on 22 May for the Provinces of Modena, Ferrara, Bologna and Mantova, with a duration of 60 days. The Head of the Civil Protection Department manages the interventions. Afterwards, Emila-Romagna and Lombardy will take over, each for the territories of their competence.
On 30 May the state of emergency is extended to the Provinces of Reggio Emilia and Rovigo.

This section describes the activation of the National Service of Civil Protection from 20 May: the first interventions, assistance to the population, safety checks and monitoring activity coordinated by the Head of the Civil Protection Department. The page of deployed forces is updated periodically.

At 4.04 a.m. of 20 May 2012, a 5,9 magnitude earthquake hit territories of the northern area of Italy, causing the death of seven people: five for direct consequences triggered by the seismic events and two for concomitant causes.

The earthquake affects mainly the municipalities of Modena and Ferrara provinces, and, to a lesser extent, the ones of Bologna and Mantova. Based on Ingv registrations, the epicentre of the main shock is localized mainly among the municipalities of Finale Emilia and San Felice sul Panaro in the province of Modena, and Sermide in the province of Mantova.

Municipalities affected by the event are classified in zone 3 (low dangerousness) according to the resolution no. 1435 of 21 July 2003 of the Regional Council of Emilia Romagna.

Information arriving from the territory report that most of the houses are undamaged. Damages were mainly registered on worship buildings, cultural heritage and industrial warehouses.
Due to the importance of the event, the President of the Council of Ministers issued the declaration of the exceptional risk that might compromise primary assets, based on no. 286 law of 27 December 2002 and in prevision of the upcoming declaration of emergency.

On 22 May the Council of Ministers declared the state of emergency for the provinces of Ferrara, Modena, Mantova and Bologna with a duration of 60 days. The state of emergency is declared according to decree n. 59 del 30 aprile 2012 che modifica la legge n. 225 del 24 febbraio 1992, istitutiva del Servizio Nazionale.
The Head of the Civil Protection Department manages the interventions. At the end of the state of emergency, coordination will be taken over by Emilia-Romagna and Lombardy Regions, each for their respective territories.

On 22 May 2012 the Head of the Civil Protection Department Franco Gabrielli has signed the ordinance for the first urgent interventions of civil protection: rescue, assistance to the population and necessary interventions for people affected by the quake.