Monitoraggio del territorio


Macro-seismic inspections.  In the hours immediately following the earthquake of April 6, a team of experts in macro seismic detection was activated, with the aim of collecting information on the effects of the earthquake and provide reliable picture of the effects produced in the damaged area.  The inspection was repeated with cross-checks carried out by different teams, in order to have better assessment.

After 36 hours, about 70 locations were monitored.  Later checks and controls repeated over time allowed the monitoring of the effects in 315 locations.

We then publish the list of damaged towns, with their respective macro seismic intensity value, which summarizes the level and extent of damage suffered.  The final assessment of the MCS intensity in each location was the result of a collegial decision.  The attribution of the intensity values to the built-up areas was carried out by applying the Mercalli-Cancani-Sieberg - MCS macroseismic scale, which allows rapid application and provides evaluations directly related to the damage.

The macro seismic inspections were conducted by operators, part of the Quest - Quick Earthquake Survey Team, composed of: teams of surveyors from the sections INGV - National Institute of Geophysics and Volcanology of Bologna, Rome, Naples and Catania, teams of the National Department of Civil Protection supported by technicians Enea - National Agency for New Technologies, Energy and Sustainable Economic Development and team of the University of Basilicata and the National Research Council Imaa - Institute of Methodologies for Environmental Analysis.

Seismic Micro zonation.  Since May 2009 it has also been possible to undertake another type of monitoring of the territory of L'Aquila, with the launch of the Seismic Microzonation (MS) plan in the municipalities affected by the earthquake, as established by the Ordinance of the President of the Council of Ministers n. 3772, art. n. 13.

These studies are important for a more conscious identification of strategic elements and for civil protection. They also serve for the reconstruction of residential areas, distinguishing between stable areas, stable areas susceptible to local amplification, and areas subject to instability such as landslides, surface fractures and liquefactions of the ground.

The MS for the reconstruction of the most damaged municipalities has been implemented on the basis of the "Addresses and Criteria for Seismic Microzonation" approved on November 11, 2008 by the Civil Protection Department and the Conference of Regions and Autonomous Provinces (Working Group MS, 2008).

The studies were conducted on 12 macro-areas of the L'Aquila area made available on this website from January 2010: geographical framing map, geolithological map, geolithological sections, survey map, map of homogeneous micro-areas in seismic perspective (level 1 map), seismic micro-areas map (level 3 map):

1) L’Aquila Centro
2) L’Aquila Ovest (Cansatessa-Pettino-Coppito)
3) L’Aquila Est (Tempera, Paganica, San Gregorio, Bazzano)
4) Poggio Picenze, San Pio delle Camere (Castelnuovo), Barisciano
5) Onna
6) Villa S.Angelo (Tussillo), S.Eusanio Forconese (Casentino), Fossa
7) S.Demetrio ne' Vestini (Stiffe), Fagnano Alto (Vallecupa, Pedicciano), Arischia
8) Poggio Roio, Colle Roio, Roio Piano, Santa Rufina, Contrada Cavalli
9) Bagno Grande, Bagno Piccolo, Civita di Bagno, Pianola, San Benedetto, San Felice d’Ocre, Valle-Cavalletto
10) Castelvecchio Subequo, Goriano Sicoli
11) Collebrincioni, Camarda
12) Navelli (Civitaretenga), Prata d’Ansidonia (S. Nicandro, Tussio).

The documentation was collected in a volume published by the Abruzzo Region and the Civil Protection Department.

The study was promoted and coordinated by the Civil Protection Department with the Abruzzo Region, with the involvement of about 150 researchers and technicians from 10 Italian universities (L'Aquila, Chieti-Pescara, Genoa, Turin Polytechnic, Milan Polytechnic),  Florence, Basilicata, Rome1, Rome3, Siena), of 8 research institutes (Cnr, Ingv, Agi, ReLUIS, Ispra, Enea, Ogs, Gfz-Postdam), of 4 Regions and 1 Autonomous Province (Abruzzo, Lazio, Emilia-Romagna, Tuscany, Province of Trento) and of the Order of Geologists of the Abruzzo Region.